User Manager

Previous  Index  Next  How To Use

You can reach the User Manager via the Enterprise Manager. Double clicking the Users node will open a window similar to the one below.

 

The Oracle User Manager

 

A list of all users will be displayed. Different columns are shown to get an easy overview of several of the properties for each user.

 

The image at the far left of the window shows the current status of the user:

 

Lock: account is currently locked

Grayed: account is currently expired

Solid: account is currently active

 

The toolbar holds 3 buttons to create, edit or drop a user.

 

When editing or creating a new user, use the OK button to save your changes and the Cancel button to, well, cancel your changes.

 

Note:

The user you used to register your Oracle server needs to have access to views DBA_USERS and DBA_TS_QUOTES for this feature to work.

 

Creating a New User

Using the New User button will give you this dialog:

 

Create New User dialog, page 1

 

On the first page, you can enter the user name and authentication information. Optionally, you can expire or lock the account.

 

For further information regarding authentication methods, see the Oracle documentation.

 

Create New User dialog, page 2

 

The Tablespace page allows you to enter the default tablespace this user will use and quotas for the tablespaces. By default, there will be a quota of 0 megabytes. Either adjust the values or check the Unlimited check box for no limit.

 

Create New User dialog, page 3

 

The third page of the dialog, Roles, allows you to add this user to certain roles as defined for this database. The dialog lists the roles and the possible options:

Granted: user has this role

Admin: user can grant this role to other users

Default: user will have this role active when connecting

 

The toolbar holds buttons to grant all roles, grant all Admin or make all roles the Default. The last button revokes all given privileges.

 

For more information about Roles, see the Oracle documentation.

 

Create New User dialog, page 4

 

The last page holds a large list of system defined privileges that can be granted to the user. Again, there are columns with possible options:

Granted: user has this privilege

Admin: user can grant this privilege to other users

 

The buttons in the toolbar are shortcuts to grant everything to the user or revoke all given privileges.

 

For more information about the available privileges, see the Oracle documentation.

 

Editing a User

Editing a user will show the same dialog as creating a new user and all properties can be modified except the user name. Modify the user to your liking and use the OK button to save your changes to the database.

 

Dropping a User

You can drop a user account by using the Drop User button. If the user has objects defined in its schema, the following dialog will be shown:

The user has objects - do you want to force the drop?

 

When selecting Yes, the user including all its defined database objects will be dropped. Use carefully!