Secure Drop

Previous  Index  Next  How To Use

Database Workbench has "Secure Drop" functionality for databases and objects, this is useful when, for example, you are working at a production database and do not accidentally drop database objects like Tables, Triggers etc... Instead of having to click Yes, No or Cancel, you have to explicitly mark a check box and click Yes to drop the object or database.

 

It can be turned ON in the Preferences, DB Navigator & Enterprise Manager for databases and Preferences, Object Editors for object editors, additionally, the "secure object drop" can be turned ON on a per database basis in the database registration properties or options, possible values are "On", "Off" or "application default".

 

Below is an example of the two different "drop database" dialogs, the "secure drop" on the left, "normal drop" at the right.

 

Drop Database confirmation dialogs, "secure drop" and "normal drop"

 

Below is an example of the two different "drop object" dialogs, the "secure drop" on the left, "normal drop" at the right.

 

Drop Object confirmation dialogs, "secure drop" and "normal drop"

 

Additionally, the normal drop object dialog has a Don't show this message again check box, if you mark it, the dialog won't show when you attempt to drop an object and will take the same answer as you have previously selected.